The competition for REMODELING's annual Remodeling Design Awards has begun! Read on for details, and then click here to enter online. Questions? Contact our staff at [email protected].

For years, REMODELING has devoted an entire issue to showcasing America's best remodeling projects, selected from hundreds of entries by a distinguished panel of judges. Award recipients (see last year's winners) will be featured in the September issue of REMODELING as well as online, through videos, in our e-newsletters, on our project gallery, and via social media. A select number of winners also will be featured in lengthier articles throughout the year.

There is no minimum or maximum number of awards in each category. One project will be chosen from among the winners as “Best of the Year.”

Remodeling contractors, architects, builders, developers, planners, kitchen and bath specialists, and other remodeling professionals may submit projects completed after June 1, 2014. Entries must be original in all respects, and by submitting your entry, you represent and warrant that no part of the entry was taken from or based on any other work such that the entry infringes on the intellectual property rights of any person.

Here are the categories:

  • Whole-house remodeling: Renovations that encompass more than 50% of a house; may include additions.
  • Additions: The addition of a room or rooms to an existing structure.
  • Commercial remodeling: The renovation of light commercial and other non-residential structures.
  • Historically sensitive renovation: Not preservation projects, but projects on residences built before 1950 that elevate and enhance a structure’s historical spirit while incorporating design that satisfies current lifestyle needs.
  • Kitchen remodeling: A substantially redesigned and/or reconstructed kitchen.
  • Bathroom remodeling: A substantially redesigned and/or reconstructed bathroom.
  • Green remodeling: Projects that maximize renewable products and techniques. Must show high architectural and design standards as well as functionality.
  • Craftsmanship/detail: A specific element in a project, e.g., joints, transitions, trim, carpentry, stairs, entryways, cabinetry. Include a detailed description of the craftsmanship.
  • Basement remodeling: A substantially redesigned and/or reconstructed basement.
  • Residential exterior remodeling: Renovations that enhance a residence’s overall exterior. Projects may include additions such as porches, conservatories, porticoes and decks as well as recladding.
  • Better Living/Universal Design: A whole house (more than 50% of the home), room remodel, or addition designed with UD principles. Must show high architectural design standards as well as functionality. Include a detailed description pointing out UD principles.

Important Dates
May 10, 2016 → Register, upload materials and pay the early bird rate of $149
May 24, 2016 → Submission deadline for late entries. The fee is $175

How to prepare your entry
This year’s awards are completely digital! You can register, complete your entry forms, and upload your entry materials (including images, descriptions, and documentation) by submitting everything online in a three-step process.

STEP ONE: Register your project.
STEP TWO: Pay your fees.
STEP THREE: Fill out online entry forms and upload your entry materials. You may also return to the website to add to or modify your entry at a later date.

Winners will be notified in early July. Winners may be asked for additional product-related information about their winning projects.

Click here to register and enter online